Skip to content
Shetland Islands Counts — Shetland Islands, in numbers.Local help →

Shetland Islands, in numbers

People and living standards

Shetland Islands council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Shetland Islands council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 22,530 in 1991 to 22,710 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Shetland Islands council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,860 people in 1996; 22,710 people in 2025. 0.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Shetland Islands council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199122,530
199222,600
199322,760
199422,790
199522,970
199622,860
199722,830
199822,700
199922,510
200022,180
200121,960
200222,000
200321,950
200422,090
200522,250
200622,210
200722,350
200822,480
200922,800
201023,060
201123,240
201223,200
201323,180
201423,330
201523,370
201623,240
201723,110
201823,000
201922,910
202022,890
202122,960
202223,020
202322,890
202422,800
202522,710
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Shetland Islands council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 5,169 people in 1996; 3,873 people in 2025. 25.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Shetland Islands council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19915,267
19925,270
19935,255
19945,240
19955,257
19965,169
19975,137
19985,099
19995,019
20004,922
20014,784
20024,747
20034,654
20044,629
20054,627
20064,512
20074,489
20084,426
20094,449
20104,485
20114,475
20124,407
20134,364
20144,337
20154,295
20164,276
20174,294
20184,271
20194,296
20204,267
20214,237
20224,158
20234,069
20244,018
20253,873
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Shetland Islands council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,702 people in 1996; 13,546 people in 2025. 7.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Shetland Islands council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,150
199214,261
199314,454
199414,533
199514,687
199614,702
199714,708
199814,634
199914,473
200014,196
200114,090
200214,121
200314,131
200414,245
200514,317
200614,324
200714,404
200814,469
200914,668
201014,836
201114,969
201214,803
201314,693
201414,729
201514,714
201614,527
201714,302
201814,138
201913,889
202013,774
202113,760
202213,827
202313,730
202413,592
202513,546
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Shetland Islands council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 2,989 people in 1996; 5,291 people in 2025. 77% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Shetland Islands council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19913,113
19923,069
19933,051
19943,017
19953,026
19962,989
19972,985
19982,967
19993,018
20003,062
20013,086
20023,132
20033,165
20043,216
20053,306
20063,374
20073,457
20083,585
20093,683
20103,739
20113,796
20123,990
20134,123
20144,264
20154,361
20164,437
20174,514
20184,591
20194,725
20204,849
20214,963
20225,035
20235,091
20245,190
20255,291
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 22,985 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Shetland Islands · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total22,42297.6%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 23,167 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Shetland Islands · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White22,80598.4%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller80%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group720.3%
Asian / Asian British: Indian210.1%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani450.2%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi180.1%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese730.3%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian770.3%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British310.1%
Other Ethnic Group170.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2.2% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Shetland Islands council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,095 per person in 1997; £26,531 per person in 2024. 191.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Shetland Islands council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,095
19989,114
19999,178
200010,020
20019,175
20029,662
20039,965
200410,595
200511,116
200612,393
200713,662
200814,966
200916,831
201015,831
201116,141
201216,859
201317,646
201418,274
201519,126
201619,606
201719,522
201819,386
201920,943
202020,743
202121,696
202222,823
202324,670
202426,531
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Shetland Islands council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -14.3% in 1997; 2.2% in 2024. 16.5 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Shetland Islands council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-14.3
1998-15.8
1999-18.9
2000-15.8
2001-25.8
2002-23.6
2003-23.6
2004-21.9
2005-20.9
2006-15.4
2007-11
2008-5
20095.1
2010-2
2011-0.9
2012-0.2
20130.7
20141.1
20150.5
20161.8
2017-0.9
2018-5
2019-0.6
2020-1.2
2021-0.7
2022-0.6
20230.9
20242.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

14.5%

20 March 2022 · Shetland Islands council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Shetland Islands council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£179,000

July 2026 · Shetland Islands council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.